(Don’t) Put Your Foot In It

You just made a digital footprint on my blog – OH MY GOD I PAID LIKE $2000 FOR THAT COMPUTER I CAN’T BELIEVE YOU JUST STEPPED ON IT!!!!!

Chilllll.

I’m KIDDING!

Allow me to introduce me to the concept of a digital footprint. Everything you do online, like visiting websites or Googling or logging in to Facebook or watching funny cat videos on YouTube, contributes to your digital footprint. So, by visiting my humble lil’ blog, that’s become a part of your digital footprint. Neat-o! My personal digital footprint is probably like at least 75% composed of social media activity: Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and also, perhaps kind of shamefully in this ~modern age~, email. I also do my fair share of Google searching, Netflix watching, and I like to read food blogs in my spare time like a 30-something year old woman.

I have a pretty low-key online presence. In the past when you image-searched my name, a photo of my Dad would appear a good four or five rows above the single picture of me that would turn up. Since getting Twitter, a tiny image of my profile picture will come up higher up in the results, but that’s about the extent of it. Meanwhile, a generic web search of “Quinton Bradshaw” turns up the typical lists of possible Facebook profile matches, none of who are me, and my Vimeo page, which, given my program and the fact that I’m not embarrassed of any of the videos on it, I’m pretty happy about.

My take on digital identities is probably somewhat different than most people my age, because my mom runs a business (shameless promo: www.bizpixplus.com! Check it out people!) focused on helping people create a professional online identity. So I’ve definitely always been fairly aware of the value of being careful of how I come across online and trying to monitor that. Because of that, I’ve never really posted anything stupid or embarrassing or gotten involved in any vicious Internet feuds.

That’s not to say that I think we should all be Internet hermits and never put ourselves out there, because I definitely see the value in that, especially as an artist or a creator. Sharing your work online is a great way to gain a following and build your reputation. Having a visible online presence also allows you to network and meet other like-minded individuals. As long as you’re smart and mindful bout what you’re putting out into the world, then if you want to, you should go for it!! From a personal standpoint, as a creative person hoping to enter the media industry, I wish I had a stronger online presence!

In the meantime I’ll settle for this blog and my expertly curated insta, though – baby steps, right??

Leave a Reply

